Industry News

Rob Usnick never gives up at KOH, and wins contingency prize from for his effort

Rob Usnick the presenting sponsor for the 2012 King of the Hammers UTV race offered a unique spin on contingency. The last Official King of the Hammers finisher would take home a crisp $100.00 bill for their effort. Piloting a Yamaha Rhino in the Production 700 class Usnick who previously raced in the Ultra4 class made the switch to UTV racing in 2011. Thirty Nine UTV’s took the start of the 2012 KOH UTV race the largest class in the week long King of the Hammers this far. Mitch Guthrie who has one the event twice before took the trophy in 2 hours in 20 minutes, and by contrast Usnick completed the course in 6 hours and 3 minutes. required decals on both sides of the vehicle to participate with a majority of the UTV racers participating. “Our goal was to offer a unique opportunity for someone outside the winning purse to have a chance at a few bucks”, said Mike Lasher general manager of SXSPerformance. SXSPerformance, also donated $500.00 toward the SavetheHammers campaign during the UTV drivers meeting at KOH. displayed at the King of the Hammers making products available to UTV customers on the lakebed. Ivan Van Ortwick who purchased his Polaris RZR XP the Friday before the event was able to outfit the machine on the lakebed, and race it in the UTV race the next day. “When is the next race?” was all Van Ortwick wanted to know. SXSPerformance will be traveling to the Terra Del Sol Jeep Safari next on March 2nd and 3rd with a full display of UTV parts and accessories available for purchase on site.

SXSPerformance has partnered with the TDS Jeep club to offer a UTV only raffle in addition to the massive safari raffle. UTV’s and SXS’s are welcome to participate in the 50th running of the TDS Safari and will be able to tackle the same trails that have made the safari famous. Stop in to the SXSPerformance booth to take advantage of savings on the best UTV parts and accessories available or visit the website

Unofficial finisher list for the Pit Bull Tires King of the Hammers UTV Race:
1 Mitch Guthrie 555 – Polaris RZR XP (Unlimited 4)
2 Todd Stephenson 1944 – Arctic Cat Wildcat (Production 1000)
3 Jared Newman 2436 – Polaris RZR XP (Production 1000)
4 Jon Crowley 1965 – Polaris RZR XP (Production 1000)
5 Johnny Ford 120 – Polaris RZR XP (Production 1000)
6 Rod Roach 134 – Polaris RZR XP (Production 1000)
7 Joseph Murphy 130 – Polaris RZR XP (Production 1000)
8 Zane Znamenacek 712
9 Matt Enochs 1524
10 Frank Walsh 3493
11 Bill Barnett 711
12 Lanse Chournus 615 – Arctic Cat Wildcat (Production 1000)
13 Dallas Wyatt 466
14 Mark Eulberg 3646
15 Derek Stewart 987
16 Lanse Chournus 413
17 Dana Loreman 128
18 Rob Usnick 1999 – Yamaha Rhino Last finisher and winner.

Photos courtesy of UTV Underground.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

    Leave a Reply