Industry News

Can-Am Racers Capture Two Championships

Maverick 1000R X rs
The entire Murray Racing / Yoshimura / Can-Am team celebrated the third-place podium finish in the
UTV Pro 1900 class, which expanded the points lead for drivers Derek and Jason Murray. 

Off-Road Racers Earn Podiums in GNCC, WORCS, BITD, TORN and NEATV-MX

Valcourt, Québec, October 17, 2013 – Can-Am® ATV and side-by-side racers competed in many different off-road series last weekend, coming away with a couple championships and several wins. Can-Am DS 450™ racer Travis Moore wrapped up the New England ATV Motocross Series Pro class championship with a podium finish at the series finale in New York. Maverick™ 1000R pilot Steve Beilman secured the 2013 UTV Unlimited class championship with a top-five finish at the Lucas Oil Off-Road Regional Racing Series race in Southern California.

“Can-Am ATV and side-by-side racers had a great weekend, winning two overall championships and putting themselves in position for perhaps several more,” said Jeff Leclerc, Racing Project Leader, Can-Am.


Can-Am Pro Travis Moore won the first pro Moto at AK Farms MX and then rode to a cautious fifth-place finish in moto two to capture his first ever NEATV-MX ATV Pro championship and second straight for Can-Am.

“My Wide Open Racing / Can-Am was running great. I can’t thank them enough for putting together an amazing race ATV and helping me to win this championship,” said Moore.

Can-Am DS 450 pilots Mathieu Deroy took second in the Pro class and Jake Chamberland, who won the College Boy and 4-Stroke A titles, took third in Pro-Am. Can-Am racers also notched one more class win and 10 additional podium finishes at the finale.


By finishing fifth at the LOORRS Shoot Out event at Lake Elsinore MX Park in Lake Elsinore, Calif., Steve Beilman captured the first UTV Unlimited class championship with the Can-Am Maverick 1000R side-by-side. Beilman and fellow Maverick pilot Wayne Matlock were tied for the class points lead heading into the LOORRS finale, which pitted riders from Utah, Arizona and Southern California. Beilman won the title by just eight points (276-268) over Matlock, who finished 36 points ahead of third place.


Round 12 of the AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country series, held at Powerline Park in St. Clairsville, Ohio, featured both ATV and side-by-sides. Can-Am racers won six classes, four 4×4 ATV classes and the two UTV classes, and earned 15 podiums. Michael Swift (Team UXC Racing / Can-Am) won both the U2 class and the XC2 Limited UTV class. Swift edged fellow Renegade® racer Rob Smith (BNR / Can-Am) for the U2 class win and regained the class points lead. He also drove his Maverick 1000R to the XC2 Limited win. Bryan Buckhannon (ATV Parts Plus / Can-Am) won the 4×4 Open class for the 12th consecutive race. Kevin Trantham’s 11-race winning streak is also intact, after the Outlander™ 500 racer won the 4×4 Lites class. Terry Whiteside won the 4×4 Senior (40+) class. Team Night Krawler Kustom, which took fifth, was the top finishing Can-Am in the XC1 Modified UTV class. The Ironman GNCC is scheduled for Oct. 26-27, in Crawfordsville, Ind.


Can-Am DS 450 Pro racer Dillon Zimmerman (GPS / Can-Am) earned a second-place podium finish in the ATV Pro class at the World Off-Road Championship Series finale held at Buffal Bills Casino in Primm, Nev. However, the event was also highlighted by the return of ATV Pro Josh Frederick, who suited up and carefully participated in the parade lap. In the SxS Pro Production UTV class, Murray Racing / Can-Am pilot Dave Martinez took fourth place. IMG Motorsports / Can-Am Maverick driver James Hill, 12th in Primm, captured third overall in the final Pro Production class standings.


Maverick 1000R X rs pilots Jason and Derek Murray (Murray Racing / Yoshimura / Can-Am) earned third place in the UTV Pro 1900 class at the two-day Best in the Desert BlueWater Desert Classic event in Parker, Ariz. The podium finish also expanded their UTV Pro class points lead to seven points (not counting throw outs).

The Murrays started the first day of racing ninth in their class, however, by the end of the first portion of three laps (73 miles), the Murrays had moved into fifth. On day two, after grabbing the holeshot, the No. 1917 Can-Am Maverick churned its way through the whoops, dust, sand, silt and rocks to earn another podium finish and retain its points lead. The Henderson 250, the series finale, will run on Dec. 6-8, in Henderson, Nev.


Can-Am racers earned five class wins and 14 podium finishes at round seven of the Texas Off-Road Nationals held in Combine, Texas. Louis Powersports / Can-Am X-Team members Hunter and Cody Miller each recorded a couple of podiums. Hunter edged Cody for the ATV Pro class win, but trails his brother by three points with one round remaining. In the UTV Expert class, Cody and Hunter took second and third. Renegade ATV racer Chris Robinson won both the Open A and Utility classes. Round eight is Nov. 9-10, in Frost, Texas.

For more information on Can-Am racing, the 2013 schedule, the ’13 contingency program and Can-Am DS 450 ATV amateur racer support program, visit

BRP (TSX:DOO) is a global leader in the design, development, manufacturing, distribution and marketing of powersports vehicles. Distributed in 105 countries, its portfolio of brands and products includes Ski-Doo and Lynx snowmobiles, Sea-Doo watercraft, Can-Am all-terrain and side-by-side vehicles, Spyder roadsters, Evinrude outboard engines, as well as Rotax propulsion systems. BRP employs approximately 6,800 people worldwide.

Sea-Doo, Ski-Doo, Lynx, Evinrude, Can-Am, Spyder, Rotax and the BRP logo are trademarks of Bombardier Recreational Products Inc. or its affiliates.

Follow us on Facebook at

You Might Also Like

No Comments

    Leave a Reply